Square Kilometers to Ares Conversion

Enter the area in square kilometers below to get the value converted to ares.

Results in Ares:
Loading content.
1 sq km = 10,000 a

How to Convert Square Kilometers to Ares

Calculators can be used to convert measurements from one unit to another

To convert a square kilometer measurement to an are measurement, multiply the area by the conversion ratio.

Since one square kilometer is equal to 10,000 ares, you can use this simple formula to convert:

ares = square kilometers × 10,000

The area in ares is equal to the square kilometers multiplied by 10,000.

For example, here's how to convert 5 square kilometers to ares using the formula above.
5 sq km = (5 × 10,000) = 50,000 a

How Many Ares are in a Square Kilometer?

There are 10,000 ares in a square kilometer, which is why we use this value in the formula above.

1 sq km = 10,000 a

Square kilometers and ares are both units used to measure area. Keep reading to learn more about each unit of measure.

Square Kilometers

One square kilometer is equal to the area of a square with sides that are 1 kilometer in length.

The square kilometer, or square kilometre, is a multiple of the square meter, which is the SI derived unit for area. In the metric system, "kilo" is the prefix for 103. A square kilometer is sometimes also referred to as a square km. Square kilometers can be abbreviated as sq km, and are also sometimes abbreviated as km². For example, 1 square kilometer can be written as 1 sq km or 1 km².


One are is equal to 100 square meters, or the area of a square with 10 meter sides.

The are is a non-SI metric unit for area. Ares can be abbreviated as a; for example, 1 are can be written as 1 a.

Square Kilometer to Are Conversion Table

Square kilometer measurements converted to ares
Square Kilometers Ares
0.0001 sq km 1 a
0.0002 sq km 2 a
0.0003 sq km 3 a
0.0004 sq km 4 a
0.0005 sq km 5 a
0.0006 sq km 6 a
0.0007 sq km 7 a
0.0008 sq km 8 a
0.0009 sq km 9 a
0.001 sq km 10 a
0.002 sq km 20 a
0.003 sq km 30 a
0.004 sq km 40 a
0.005 sq km 50 a
0.006 sq km 60 a
0.007 sq km 70 a
0.008 sq km 80 a
0.009 sq km 90 a
0.01 sq km 100 a
0.02 sq km 200 a
0.03 sq km 300 a
0.04 sq km 400 a
0.05 sq km 500 a
0.06 sq km 600 a
0.07 sq km 700 a
0.08 sq km 800 a
0.09 sq km 900 a
0.1 sq km 1,000 a
0.2 sq km 2,000 a
0.3 sq km 3,000 a
0.4 sq km 4,000 a
0.5 sq km 5,000 a
0.6 sq km 6,000 a
0.7 sq km 7,000 a
0.8 sq km 8,000 a
0.9 sq km 9,000 a
1 sq km 10,000 a