Megacalories to Kilojoules Converter

Enter the energy in megacalories below to get the value converted to kilojoules.


Have a Question or Feedback?

Result in Kilojoules:

Loading content.
1 Mcal = 4,184 kJ

Do you want to convert kilojoules to megacalories?

How to Convert Megacalories to Kilojoules

To convert a measurement in megacalories to a measurement in kilojoules, multiply the energy by the following conversion ratio: 4,184 kilojoules/megacalorie.

Since one megacalorie is equal to 4,184 kilojoules, you can use this simple formula to convert:

kilojoules = megacalories × 4,184

The energy in kilojoules is equal to the energy in megacalories multiplied by 4,184.

For example, here's how to convert 5 megacalories to kilojoules using the formula above.
kilojoules = (5 Mcal × 4,184) = 20,920 kJ

How Many Kilojoules Are in a Megacalorie?

There are 4,184 kilojoules in a megacalorie, which is why we use this value in the formula above.

1 Mcal = 4,184 kJ

Megacalories and kilojoules are both units used to measure energy. Keep reading to learn more about each unit of measure.

What Is a Megacalorie?

One megacalorie is equal to 1,000,000 calories, which is the heat needed to raise the temperature of one gram of water from 14.5 to 15.5 degrees Celsius. One megacalorie is equal to 4.184 megajoules.

Megacalories can be abbreviated as Mcal; for example, 1 megacalorie can be written as 1 Mcal.

Learn more about megacalories.

What Is a Kilojoule?

One kilojoule is equal to 1,000 joules, which is the energy equal to the force on an object of one newton at a distance of one meter.

The kilojoule is a multiple of the joule, which is the SI derived unit for energy. In the metric system, "kilo" is the prefix for thousands, or 103. Kilojoules can be abbreviated as kJ; for example, 1 kilojoule can be written as 1 kJ.

Learn more about kilojoules.

Megacalorie to Kilojoule Conversion Table

Table showing various megacalorie measurements converted to kilojoules.
Megacalories Kilojoules
0.001 Mcal 4.184 kJ
0.002 Mcal 8.368 kJ
0.003 Mcal 12.55 kJ
0.004 Mcal 16.74 kJ
0.005 Mcal 20.92 kJ
0.006 Mcal 25.1 kJ
0.007 Mcal 29.29 kJ
0.008 Mcal 33.47 kJ
0.009 Mcal 37.66 kJ
0.01 Mcal 41.84 kJ
0.02 Mcal 83.68 kJ
0.03 Mcal 125.52 kJ
0.04 Mcal 167.36 kJ
0.05 Mcal 209.2 kJ
0.06 Mcal 251.04 kJ
0.07 Mcal 292.88 kJ
0.08 Mcal 334.72 kJ
0.09 Mcal 376.56 kJ
0.1 Mcal 418.4 kJ
0.2 Mcal 836.8 kJ
0.3 Mcal 1,255 kJ
0.4 Mcal 1,674 kJ
0.5 Mcal 2,092 kJ
0.6 Mcal 2,510 kJ
0.7 Mcal 2,929 kJ
0.8 Mcal 3,347 kJ
0.9 Mcal 3,766 kJ
1 Mcal 4,184 kJ

More Megacalorie & Kilojoule Conversions