Military Time Converter – Army Time Chart

Use the military time converter below to convert military time to regular 12-hour time and vice versa.

Current 12-Hour Time

Current 24-Hour Time

Current Military Time

Military Time Conversion

hours

On this page:


How to Convert Military Time to Regular Time

Military time is a time format based on 24-hour standard time that is less ambiguous and leaves little room for confusion. It’s commonly referred to as Army time or 24-hour time, but it’s not the same as the 24-hour time standard; learn more about that below.

Military time uses hours ranging from 00 to 23 and does not use the am or pm suffixes to distinguish time of day. It’s denoted with no colon and is pronounced as a four-digit number; for instance, 9:30 is pronounced zero nine thirty hours.

Despite its name, it’s not only used in the armed forces. 24-hour time is commonly used in the medical field, emergency services, law enforcement, government, meteorology and astronomy.

You can convert military time to a regular 12-hour time using several methods; we’ll cover a few here.

Military Time Conversion Chart

The first way to convert military time is to use a conversion chart like the one below. Find your time in hours on the chart to see the equivalent 24-hour time.

Chart showing military time to regular time conversion
Regular Time Military Time
12:00 am midnight 0000
1:00 am 0100
2:00 am 0200
3:00 am 0300
4:00 am 0400
5:00 am 0500
6:00 am 0600
7:00 am 0700
8:00 am 0800
9:00 am 0900
10:00 am 1000
11:00 am 1100
12:00 pm noon 1200
1:00 pm 1300
2:00 pm 1400
3:00 pm 1500
4:00 pm 1600
5:00 pm 1700
6:00 pm 1800
7:00 pm 1900
8:00 pm 2000
9:00 pm 2100
10:00 pm 2200
11:00 pm 2300

Steps to Convert

You can convert military time to regular time in a few simple steps.

The first step is to split the military time into hours and minutes. The first two digits in the time are the hours, and the last two digits are the minutes.

If the hours are greater than 12, then subtract 12 from the hours to convert to 12-hour time. In this case, the time will also be a pm time; otherwise, it’s am.

If the hours are “00”, then the hour is actually 12 midnight.

After you’ve done all that, you can rewrite military time as regular time by writing the hours and minutes with a colon in between, then add am or pm depending on whether the hours were greater than 12.

For example, let’s convert 1730 hours to regular time.

In this case, 17 are the hours, and 30 are the minutes. Since 17 is greater than 12, subtract 12 to get the regular time hours.

hours = 17 – 12 = 5

Then, rewrite the time in regular time by placing the hours and minutes with a colon, and adding pm since the hours were greater than 12.

military time = 1730 hours
regular time = 5:30 pm

Use a Calculator

Our third and final method for converting time is to use a conversion calculator like the one above.

How to Convert Regular Time to Military Time

You can convert 12-hour regular time to military time by reversing the steps above.

Start by separating the hours and minutes and removing the colon.

If the hours have only a single digit, then add a 0 to the beginning to make it two digits. If the time is a pm time other than 12, then add 12 to the hours.

If the hours are 12 midnight, then the military time hours will be 00. If the hours are 12 noon, then the military time hours will be 12.

Then, rewrite the regular time as military time by placing the updated hours next to the minutes with no colon. Optionally, add the word “hours” after the time.

For example, let’s convert 9:30 am to military time.

Since the hours is 9, which is only a single digit, add a preceding zero: “09”.

Then, convert it to military time format like this:

regular time = 9:30 am
military time = 0930 hours

Difference Between Military Time and 24-Hour Time

Military time is often referred to as 24-hour time, but there are actually some differences between the two. See the example below for the difference in formatting between a 24-hour time and a military time.

24-hour time = 9:30
military time = 0930 hours

  • In standard 24-hour time, the hours do not include a preceding zero, while a military time will always have a preceding zero when the hours digit is less than 10 so that the complete time is always four digits. The preceding zero is always spoken.
  • In standard 24-hour time, the hours and minutes are separated with a colon, while military time does not use a colon.
  • Military time uses the suffix hours while standard 24-hour times have no suffix.
  • When pronouncing a military time, the hours are always pronounced in hundreds. So, “0930” is pronounced “zero nine thirty hours” and “1730” is pronounced “seventeen hundred thirty hours.”
  • Military time zones are different than standard world time zones and each zone has a letter code that is appended to the time. See the chart below for a complete list of zones.

Military Time Zone Chart

Military time also uses unique time zones that differ from standard time zones. The chart below shows each timezone name and code.

Military timezone chart showing the zone names and codes for each UTC offset.
Time Zone Name Zone Code UTC Offset Regular Time Military Time
Alpha A UTC +1 01:00 am 0100A
Bravo B UTC +2 02:00 am 0200B
Charlie C UTC +3 03:00 am 0300C
Delta D UTC +4 04:00 am 0400D
Echo E UTC +5 05:00 am 0500E
Foxtrot F UTC +6 06:00 am 0600F
Golf G UTC +7 07:00 am 0700G
Hotel H UTC +8 08:00 am 0800H
India I UTC +9 09:00 am 0900I
Juliet J Local Time
Kilo K UTC +10 10:00 am 1000K
Lima L UTC +11 11:00 am 1100L
Mike M UTC +12 12:00 pm 1200M
November N UTC -1 11:00 pm 2300N
Oscar O UTC -2 10:00 pm 2200O
Papa P UTC -3 09:00 pm 2100P
Quebec Q UTC -4 08:00 pm 2000Q
Romeo R UTC -5 07:00 pm 1900R
Sierra S UTC -6 06:00 pm 1800S
Tango T UTC -7 05:00 pm 1700T
Uniform U UTC -8 04:00 pm 1600U
Victor V UTC -9 03:00 pm 1500V
Whiskey W UTC -10 02:00 pm 1400W
X-ray X UTC -11 01:00 pm 1300X
Yankee Y UTC -12 12:00 pm 1200Y
Zulu Z UTC 12:00 am 0000Z
military time to regular time conversion chart